, pub-5193898349613817, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0
22.6 C
New York
Monday, May 29, 2023

ATP Masters 1000: Tournaments, Information, Stats | ATP Tour

ATP Masters 1000, which debuted as a sequence in 1990, options the perfect males’s tennis gamers at 9 high tournaments on the ATP Tour calendar. Champions at Masters 1000 occasions earn 1,000 Pepperstone ATP Rankings factors. 

Masters 1000 Reigning Champions

Carlos Alcaraz opened the 2023 sequence with a dominant run on the BNP Paribas Open, securing his return to World No. 1 within the course of. Daniil Medvedev, who completed runner-up to Alcaraz in Indian Wells, clinched the second half of the Sunshine Double by profitable the Miami Open offered by Itau. Andrey Rublev kicked off the clay-court swing together with his first Masters 1000 title on the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters, and Alcaraz adopted by efficiently defending his Mutua Madrid Open crown. 

Masters 1000 Title Leaders

For the reason that Masters 1000 sequence started in 1990, solely six gamers have gained greater than 10 Masters 1000 titles. Along with his victory on the 2021 Rolex Paris Masters, Novak Djokovic took sole possession of the ATP Masters 1000 titles report, breaking the report he beforehand shared with Rafael Nadal. He took his Masters 1000 haul to 38 by profitable the 2022 Internazionali BNL d’Italia.

Masters 1000 Win Leaders

Rafael Nadal leads Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic within the battle amongst Masters 1000 match win leaders, with the Spaniard pulling forward of the Swiss on the 2019 Rolex Paris Masters. Nadal first broke Federer’s long-held report in August 2019, together with his 379th Masters 1000 victory at this elite degree through the Coupe Rogers. Stan Wawrinka entered the High 10 leaderboard after reaching the third spherical on the 2019 BNP Paribas Open, overtaking Tommy Haas (144-107 match report).

* numbers following 2023 Mutua Madrid Open

Masters 1000 Biggest Champions

Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan dominate the titles leaderboard for the Masters 1000 tournaments.

Metropolis Singles Doubles
Indian Wells Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5) Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Miami Andre Agassi, Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6)
Monte-Carlo Rafael Nadal (11)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6) 
Madrid Rafael Nadal (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Rome Rafael Nadal (10) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)
Canada Rafael Nadal (5) Mahesh Bhupathi, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5) 
Cincinnati  Roger Federer (7)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Shanghai  Novak Djokovic (4) Marcelo Melo (3)
Paris Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)

Masters 1000 Sweeps

The “Sunshine Double”, profitable Indian Wells and Miami in the identical season, has been achieved 12 completely different occasions because the sequence started in 1990, most not too long ago by Roger Federer in 2017. The autumn Masters 1000 sweep has been accomplished 5 occasions, twice by Novak Djokovic, whereas 4 gamers have gained Canada and Cincinnati back-to-back. Rafael Nadal, the newest participant to perform the North American summer season sweep, can be the one one to have captured all three clay Masters 1000 titles consecutively. 

ATP Masters 1000 Sunshine Double (Indian Wells, Miami)
2017: Roger Federer
2016: Novak Djokovic
2015: Novak Djokovic
2014: Novak Djokovic
2011: Novak Djokovic
2006: Roger Federer
2005: Roger Federer
2001: Andre Agassi
1998: Marcelo Rios
1994: Pete Sampras
1992: Michael Chang
1991: Jim Courier

ATP Masters 1000 Spring Sweep (Clay)
2010: Rafael Nadal (Monte-Carlo, Rome, Madrid)

ATP Masters 1000 Summer time Sweep
2013: Rafael Nadal (Montreal, Cincinnati)
2003: Andy Roddick (Montreal, Cincinnati)
1998: Patrick Rafter (Toronto, Cincinnati)
1995: Andre Agassi (Montreal, Cincinnati)

ATP Masters 1000 Fall Sweep
2016: Andy Murray (Shanghai, Paris)
2015: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2013: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2007: David Nalbandian (Madrid, Paris)
2004: Marat Safin (Madrid, Paris)

Massive 4 Dominance At Masters 1000

From 2008 Madrid by 2017 Madrid, Novak Djokovic (26), Rafael Nadal (18), Andy Murray (13) and Roger Federer (12) mixed to seize 69 of the 78 Masters 1000 titles (88.5%). Throughout that stretch, solely six different gamers gained their first Masters 1000 title:
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008 Paris)
Ivan Ljubicic (2010 Indian Wells)
Robin Soderling (2010 Paris)
David Ferrer (2012 Paris)
Stan Wawrinka (2014 Monte-Carlo)
Marin Cilic (2016 Cincinnati).

Compared, within the 21 sequence occasions from 2017 Rome to 2019 Cincinnati, 9 gamers gained their first Masters 1000 title:
Alexander Zverev (2017 Rome)
Grigor Dimitrov (2017 Cincinnati)
Jack Sock (2017 Paris)
Juan Martin del Potro (2018 Indian Wells)
John Isner (2018 Miami)
Karen Khachanov (2018 Paris)
Dominic Thiem (2019 Indian Wells)
Fabio Fognini (2019 Monte-Carlo)
Daniil Medvedev (2019 Cincinnati)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles